Senior Teams

Navy Cup History

The birth of the Royal Navy Football Association took place on the 13th January 1904 in the offices of The Southern Daily Mail when a group of Royal Navy officers met and agreed that an Association be formed for the Guidance and Government of Naval Football.

On the 9th February 1904 a second meeting was held at The Southern Daily Mail where the general Council was formed. Also at this meeting resolutions were passed inviting His Majesty The King, His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales and The Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty to become Patrons of the Association. Additionally that The First Sea Lord should be President and all Commanders-in-Chief and Senior Officers of Squadrons should be Vice Presidents. (With the exception of one or two years, The Association has enjoyed Royal Patronage ever since). This was the last time a meeting was held at the Offices of The Southern Daily Mail, to mark the occasion and to acknowledge the friendship between the 2 organisations, the management of the Southern Daily Mail presented to the Royal Navy Football Association its first trophy - the Navy Cup.

In 1905 RNB Portsmouth beat Cambridge 2-1 after time at Plymouth to be the first Winners of the Navy Cup - Source - RNFA Website

RNAS Culdrose FC Navy Cup Finals

RNAS Culdrose FC are the current Navy Cup holders after beating HMS Heron FC (RNAS Yeovilton) on penalties. This was our 11th title with the first being a 2-1 win in the 1955 final over PRO Royal Marines.. By far our most successful period was during the 5 years from 1997 to 2001 with four cup final appearances and 3 victories.  

1955 RNAS Culdrose bt PRORM 2-1 (venue not known)

1960 HMS Victory bt RNAS Culdrose 4-3 (venue not known)

1963 RNAS Culdrose bt RNAS Lossiemouth 2-1 at RNAS Lossiemouth, Nr Inverness

1975 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Pembroke 3-2 at Victory Stadium, Portsmouth

1977 RNAS Culdrose bt RM Deal 2-1 at Deal Barracks, RM Deal

1988 HMS Sultan bt RNAS Culdrose 1-0 at HMS Sultan, Gosport

1992 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Neptune 3-2 at RNAS Culdrose, Helston

1997 HMS Sultan bt RNAS Culdrose 4-3 at RNAS Culdrose, Helston

1998 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Dryad 4-2 at Victory Stadium, Portsmouth

1999 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Collingwood 5-0 at HMS Drake, Plymouth

2001 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Neptune 4-1 at Victory Stadium, Portsmouth

2009 FPGRM bt RNAS Culdrose 3-0 at Victory Stadium, Portsmouth

2011 RNAS Culdrose bt HMS Ark Royal 3-1 at Fratton Park, Portsmouth Football Club

2014 RNAS Culdrose bt 45 CDO 5-2 at Victory Stadium, Portsmouth

2020 RNAS Culdrose bt RNAS Yeovilton 2-2 (4-2 on Penalties), as RNAS Yeovilton, Ilchester, Somerset